Tasty Tuesday: Restaurant Week at Gaslight

The past two weeks have been Restaurant Week(s) in Boston again. As much as I love Brasserie Jo, their menu this time around didn’t inspire me, so I opted to go to Gaslight, Brasserie du Coin, instead. I went with my parents who were excited to try someplace new. We don’t typically dine in Boston as a family because we live in the suburbs, and travelling into town has become more and more of a hassle over the years due to traffic and a lack of parking. One of the highlights of Gaslight, however, is that they have complimentary self-parking in a large lot next door.

I expected the restaurant to be crowded on a Friday during Restaurant Week, but we had an early reservation and much of the place to ourselves. Gaslight also has a large outdoor terrace, but we opted to stay indoors. The decor is very typical of a Parisian bistro, white tiles, lots of mirrors, linen napkins. I read a review on Yelp that called it a “cross between a bathroom and a Metro station.” That may not sound attractive, but it’s fairly accurate.

The one blaring incongruity was our waiter, who was as helpful and personable as a waiter could be. Very un-French. He actually recommended the Restaurant Week menu, stressing what a great deal it was.

Gaslight really is a great deal because even when it’s not Restaurant Week, they have an early bird, three-course menu. They also offer a free glass of wine with your meal. You can substitute beer or soda if you prefer. I was disappointed with the bread. It was hot and crispy on the outside, but it was too dense and I actually got the impression that the crustiness was due to being toasted rather than baked right.

Gaslight offered three options for each course. For appetizers there were two salads – field greens with fried brie or arugula and peaches – and crêpes with spicy lamb sausage. My dad doesn’t like anything too spicy, but the waiter reassured him that the crêpes were good – and that if they were too spicy, he’d get my dad something else. I tried a bit, too. They were delicious. I almost wish I had gotten them myself. Of course, I got the arugula salad. It wasn’t spicy either. I still don’t know what the secret to restaurant arugula is.

Peach and arugula salad, Gaslight Brasserie du Coin

The three options of main course were trout, a thinly sliced steak with vegetables, and homemade tagliatelle with corn and pork belly. My parents both got the steak. I tried a bite. It was tasty, but nothing spectacular. I ordered the tagliatelle. The best tagliatelle I’ve ever had was actually at a restaurant in France, so I had high hopes. This was… interesting. It wasn’t really tagliatelle. It was thin, more like linguine, and the sauce was also kind of thin and runny. I had an incredibly difficult time getting the pasta to keep from slipping off my fork. The corn and pork added a nice, unusual flavor though. I ate all of it, so it’s not like it was bad. Just different.

Peach and arugula salad, Gaslight Brasserie du Coin

For dessert, the three options were flourless chocolate cake, strawberry layer cake, and a hazelnut torte with whipped marscarpone and espresso ganache. Typically there would be no contest in that choice, for me. But I had just had flourless chocolate cake at the Capital Grill earlier that week (also a Restaurant Week excursion). They make an awesome flourless chocolate cake, so I wanted to try something different at Gaslight. My dad got the strawberry layer cake, and my mom and I both tried the hazelnut torte. It wasn’t quite what we expected but it was still yummy. It was a small, round cake with a dollop of marscarpone cream on top. That was my favorite part, sweet but tangy at the same time. I was a little disappointed with the ganache. I’m a big fan of coffee things, but this was more like a decoration swirled on the plate and didn’t really have a strong flavor.

Peach and arugula salad, Gaslight Brasserie du Coin

My overall impression of Gaslight: I liked it enough to want to go back… and order something else!

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tasty Tuesday: Restaurant Week at Gaslight

  1. Sizzle Food says:

    Looks Delish!!

Leave a Reply

