Music Monday: New albums this fall

We haven’t even seen the first day of summer yet, and I’ve already got my mind on the fall. Specifically, I can’t wait for a bunch of “long-awaited” new releases from some of my favorite artists. Here are few that have me most excited.

Matchbox Twenty – “North”
Release date: September 4

Matchbox Twenty is my favorite band. I’ve been a fan since I first saw them in concert in 1998. Sometimes it’s hard for me to believe I could still enjoy something I’ve liked for so long, but it’s harder to believe that in today’s land of one or two-hit wonders, a band like MB20 are still together and making commercially successful records after 15 years. The secret seems to be their ability to adapt their style to stay modern and relevant while still sounding like themselves. I’m not sure how I feel about the first single, but I’m anxious to hear more.

*********************************************************

No Doubt – “Push and Shove”
Release date: September 25

Can you believe it’s been ten years since No Doubt released an album? That makes me feel old. Unlike Matchbox Twenty, I don’t think No Doubt has aged as well as a band. Tragic Kingdom is one of my all-time favorite albums, and I could listen to it beginning to end. Their later releases produced a lot of big hits, but that’s it. I couldn’t name (or bother to listen to) any non-single song on either Return of Saturn or Rock Steady. That being said, No Doubt really knows how to grow with the music scene. They were one of the first groups to incorporate rap and hip hop into their pop sound. There’s no new single out yet, but it’s coming in July.

*********************************************************

Superbus – “Sunset”
Release date: August 27

Speaking of No Doubt… Superbus is like the French version of No Doubt, if Gwen Stefani were a brunette. The band’s sound and style is very California pop-punk which makes sense considering lead singer, Jennifer Ayache spent time studying in the US around 1999 (the peak of No Doubt’s career). Superbus is a band that could totally be a big hit in the US. Their songs are usually either entirely in English or half in English. They even recorded most of the new album (and the video, as you can see) in California. Sadly, I’m sure this album will never be released in the US.

*********************************************************

Bruno Pelletier – “Rendus là”
Release date: September 18

The only thing that’s disappointing about my favorite francophone singer releasing a new album in the fall is that the tour supporting his new album won’t come close to the US border until next spring. I can’t wait that long!

*********************************************************

Marie-Mai – “Untitled”
Release date: TBA

The first Marie-Mai album I ever bought (the last, Version 3.0) was a total impulse buy. I had only heard a 60 second clip of one song on a commercial. But I had heard her sing on Star Academie (she came in third, season one) and I didn’t have time to browse in the record store that day. Turns out, Version 3.0 is one of my absolute favorite francophone albums. Her new album doesn’t have a release date yet, but a lot of people already don’t like her first single. It’s a cover (in French) of Robyn’s song “Call Your Girlfriend.” I like them equally. The music is nearly identical, the two vocalists sound similar, and the translation actually maintains the point of the song remarkably well. Listen and decide for yourself.

This entry was posted in french, music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Music Monday: New albums this fall

  1. Matchbox 20 is my favorite band. I am so jealous that you saw them in 1998! I saw them a few years ago when EOM first came out. I have been to about 4 of Rob’s solo concerts, but I am soooo excited for this new album. I also had mixed feelings about the new single but it is growing on me!

    • nicoleegidio says:

      I actually won the tickets on the radio in 1998! I like Rob’s solo stuff too, but it’s definitely not the same as the band. “She’s So Mean” hasn’t grown on me yet, but I’m not too worried. I don’t think I really loved “Disease” when it first came out either, but More Than You Think You Are is a great album!

  2. Pingback: Music Monday: The Super Deluxe Edition | Waiting for Take Off

Leave a Reply

