Good reviews for my bad review

Being that this is a relatively new blog, I don’t have a ton of statistics yet. I have a small following, a bunch of likes, and a few comments on posts here and there. Nothing mind-blowing. Strangely enough, the one thing I’ve posted on the internet recently that has gotten quite a bit of positive feedback is a review on GoodReads.

I’ve reviewed a handful of books since I joined last July, and I have my account set up to email me every time there’s activity on something I post. I never received a single email until February 14 when I reviewed The Flame Alphabet by Ben Marcus. I gave it a negative review. One (generous) star. In fact, I didn’t even finish the book because I hated it so much. You can check out all the reviews on GoodReads if you’re curious about why it’s so bad. That’s not the point of this story. The point is that after I posted my review, I started getting lots of emails about people commenting or “liking” my review. I’ve gotten 12 likes and 6 comments since February. That probably doesn’t sound like a lot, but it’s actually the most total responses of any negative review for the book. I win! Sure there are more likes on a few of the five-star reviews, but I am the queen of the pan! And really, who cares about the positive review people. The book is terrible, so clearly they must be crazy.

This entry was posted in ideas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good reviews for my bad review

  1. Brooke says:

    You’re famous! Speaking of strangers, here I am reading your blog, and I am freaking out about how amazing this tire sur la neige candy you mentioned months ago sounds. Incredible!

  2. nicoleegidio says:

    Speaking of strangers, I’m freaking out about how you’re reading my blog, because I’ve been reading yours for a while and I think you’re kind of hysterical!

Leave a Reply

