Today is the first day of the rest of your blog

Ah, the first post in a brand new blog. The promise! The possibility!!

The scary white space.

I feel the same about those cute little notebooks I buy at stationery stores or get as gifts. They remain in a drawer or a bookshelf. Still cute. Still blank. What is it about those empty pages that make them so intimidating?

I guess I’m afraid of wasting the space. Marring the lines with the wrong themes or stupid ideas that aren’t worth keeping or sharing. But isn’t a space left blank the most wasted space of all?

I’ve been toying with the idea of starting a new blog for a while now and I keep coming back to excuses for not writing. I’ve had domain and server problems. I’ve had identity crises. What should I write about? The best blogs have a narrow focus. Travel? Food? French stuff? Job hunting? My focus is anything but narrow.

Finally I just gave in and decided to start writing. The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step, and all that jazz…

One of my favorite bloggers, Gretchen Rubin at The Happiness Project, often quotes Voltaire (hey look, French stuff!)

“Le mieux est l’ennemi du bien.”

Roughly translated, “Don’t let perfection be the enemy of the good.” If I waited until I solved my server problems or until I decided on a theme (that I’d probably want to change in a week anyway) or until I designed a layout, I’d still be waiting.

Eventually this blog will take some sort of shape, even if remains mish-mash of my varied interests. I like to think they are all interesting, so maybe readers will to.

So welcome to my new little corner of the Internet. I hope you enjoy your stay!

This entry was posted in ideas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today is the first day of the rest of your blog

  1. I just read your first blog post, and I welcome you to this blogosphere! Like you, I have been working to have my own blog take some kind of shape over the course of the past year. Works -in-Progress are always kind of fun to be a part of. Good luck with yours. Mine is “Down Many Roads…”

Leave a Reply

